top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDaniel Wilson

Nipsey Hussle Ownership Is Everything Own Your Mind Mind Your Own Shirt

Updated: Apr 9, 2019

Nipsey Hussle was shot in LA and he's dead. Nipsey Hussle Ownership Is Everything Own Your Mind Mind Your Own Shirt is the official shirt to remember to him, a great rapper. RIP brother... Had the pleasure of working with him on a few occasions several years ago. He was hot in LA but not too well known outside the city. He was kind, intelligent, and already giving back to the community. So sad to see a bright soul go too soon. His music and message will live on, as well as some of his projects. I'll pour one out for ya, RIP!



It could be more complex than that. Definitely elements of jealousy but having known a number of former gang members who I went to school with, most moved to entirely new cities after they turned their life around.

The reason being is being involved in a gang lifestyle you create enemies for life. You have to remember a lot of violence and harm to others is involved. If you shoot, stab, or even kill a rival and get away with it (from a legal standpoint), those close to the killed will seek revenge and they do not care if 5 years down the line you turned a corner and are trying to live a positive life. It may have less to do with hating and possibly old vendettas and actions coming back to haunt. The way he was killed, it seemed very personal. This person practically demonstrated a suicide mission the way he killed Nipsy.

His evolution was amazing to see and be a part of. As an Eritrean 🇪🇷we don’t have many major role models or people who make it per say, were young as a country etc but Nipsey was someone I followed from maybe 2011-2012. I remember so many good memories. I remember his Crenshaw mixtape which he sold for $100 at a 1000 copies max and it sold out in no time, to his TM mixtapes and TMC. He stayed true to our culture as a people and showed the honour; respect for life and dignity an Eritrean is proud of having within our culture. I’ve never cried for an artist before, even less as I’ve become a man and grown but I cried heavy for nipsey. He wasn’t just a musician to me. He was almost like my brother. He made me proud to be an Eritrean man at a time when we were very unknown and our country wasn’t in the best place, and still isn’t really. He showed that even the first generation can make it, we can make it. His father grew up from a family in a tiny village in Eritrea, much like my mother and father, yet he got Grammy nominated for best rap album and didn’t have to do no shady stuff to get there, he didn’t have to ‘suck no dick’ as its called and he still made it. Self made. Blood of a Lion. He only ever said good things, motivational and inspiring messages for people. For me it was 2x deeper, he’s someone who’s position I aspired to reach, but didn’t see anyone I could relate to there. I’ve never seen an Eritrean man make it like he did. I was scared in those early years hearing Nip when I was younger because of the pressure of making a success out of my life, being the first one for many possibly. But he showed it’s possible, and he was handicapped from the start due to his background and the environment he grew up in. On God I’ve not ever seen a man in music in recent times as universally loved by the industry, by the famous as well as the regular folk, like Nipsey Hussle. Not one bad word can be said on that mans soul and name. And for that nipsey and for all you said and did in your time, I thank you, for your ‘The Marathon Store’ and the uplifting you did to your community, for how you represented not only yourself and your family and friends, but also your small but immensely proud country 🇪🇷 but most of all thank you Nipsey Hussle for being my biggest inspiration on this earth. You did soo much good, too much for this world for you to be taken like this but I truly believe you’re resting in peace, you’re in heaven and smiling, free of the pain and stresses of this world. Rest In Peace Nipsey Hussle. The king, Ambessaer. You’ve earned it.

33 views0 comments

Subscribe Form

CONTACT

United States

123-456-7890

Young Model
bottom of page